Uncategorized

Two Old Friends

I hit a meeting for the first time in a long time.  I brought a guy I used to party with and then ran into a girl I used to party with.

She took a look at me and said how wild it is that I’m now sober going into social work. She remembered me being drunk waving a middle finger in the air saying F the world.

It’s moments like these that I pinch myself as to the reality of growth since I quit drinking. My new normal is so far from where I was.

I’m still learning how to live life honestly. It’s not easy. Other things start popping up to work on but that’s the thing that makes me human and in prayer daily. That’s why I ask God for wisdom to help me see through the fog up ahead. Some days I feel dizzy and confused like I just got off the merry go round in recovery. That’s why I seek consol from friends who are on the same mission as me. Not a lot of peolpe understand that until they are spinning.

Anywho, it was refreshing being back at meeting to get to share some of my story to help others. I learned a lot listening to some of the guys with under 90 days. I learned that I still have to turn my will over and share hope with others.

Standard

Leave a comment